Rainy day at Seongmun An… ‘Two on’ par-5 for long hitters

The first professional tournament at Seongmunan Country Club. Why you should pay attention to the course management of the long hitters on the Korean Ladies Professional Golf (KLPGA) Tour.

The KLPGA Tour’s 10th event of the season, the E1 Charity Open (total prize money of 900 million won), will be held at Seongmunan Country Club (par 72) in Wonju, Gangwon Province. Seongmunan CC opened in September 2022 and will be making its first professional appearance. Last year, the Korean Professional Golf Association (KPGA) Club League The Final was held at Seongmunan, but it was an event.

The course is named after the old name ‘Seongmun’, which means ‘gate’, as the two huge rock walls are like gates guarding the town. The fairways are lined with bentgrass, so you can enjoy a leisurely and dynamic round in a dignified space.토토사이트

It’s a course with character. There is an even mix of difficult and easy holes, with a clear distinction between uphill and downhill holes. It’s also been carefully designed so that you have to take into account the slopes on the sides.

One of the highlights of this tournament is the ‘par 5’ holes. “The ninth hole, which requires a bold approach over a right bunker with a vast lake and rocky cliffs beneath your feet, and the 16th hole, which requires a two-on approach to the left fairway close to a stream, are key,” said Lee So-yeon, Head of Golf at HDC Resorts.

It will be interesting to see how the KLPGA Tour’s longest hitters perform at this event. It will be interesting to see how Kim Soo-ji and Kwak Bomi, who are ranked first and second in driving distance, as well as rookies Hwang Yoo-min and Kim Min-byul and powerhouse Bang Shin-sil will perform on the par-5 Seongmunan.

It will also be interesting to see the playing styles of Choi Hye-jin, who will be making her first domestic outing, and overseas player Yoo So-yeon, who will be playing as a recommended player.

Above all, the E1 Charity Open is a tournament without a winner. It has been held 10 times, but has never allowed a multiple winner. Defending champion Jung Yoon-ji, along with former champions Ji Han-sol and Lee So-young, will be aiming for the top spot. It will be interesting to see if there will be a winner of the season.